Always crashing in the same car

Oh well, a nod to the David Bowie song. Why do I always go to the same places? Right now, for example, I am at Pasteur Street Brewery in Saigon, where I was before, while not going to the likes of Broma or Kingdom Beer.

I think it boils down to wanting to have some continuity. When you are like me, today in Beijing tomorrow in Seoul and then in Cape Town, for years and years, you want to keep some kind of continuity in your life. Hence, Pasteur, and Blanchy’s last night. I have been here before and I know it. It’s my territory, a semblance of a global home spanning half the globe.

Leave a Reply

